Tu-Na Quilts: Trunk Show 2016

Here’s some of the quilts I am particularly proud of that I’ve made in the past. I’m linking to Whims and Fancies Trunk Show which showcases quilts. You are invited to check them out (click on this button below) after you get done reading here that is.

Online Quilt Trunk Show | Whims And Fancies

This summer I made a plus quilt for our exchange daughter (blog post still coming about it) and gifted it to her in August. You can read more about the quilt by clicking here.

10aa

I made two Little House Quilts using Amy Friend’s idea and many of her free patterns found on her During Quite Time Blog. I made the quilt below for my friend’s granddaughter. Click here to read the story of why I made it and for the links to the free patterns.

Gianna's quilt 1a

I made the quilt below for my grandson. I designed the covered wagon block. Close-up pics as well as my post explaining why I chose the blocks I did and links to the patterns (except for the covered wagon) can be found by clicking here.

LH141a

I like this side by side pic so you can see the differences of these two quilts. The one on the left is definitely more girly and rightfully so since it went to a little girl.

 

I also made two pixelated giraffe quilts. This first one was for my granddaughter. There are 714 squares that finish at 1.5 inches of quilty cuteness here.

Katherinas quilt 1bbb

Nothing warmed my heart more than when she gave her taste of approval.

ks-quilt-8ca

I used Minky for the back of both giraffe quilts. They were my first and second attempts at free-motion quilting on my home sewing machine and I loved it. My grandson’s quilt was a bit bigger with 714 squares finishing at two inches. If you look close you can see how I added an eyeball and nostrils when I quilted it. I think he was a bit excited to get it, too.

1a

 

I have more quilts to show and share but time is running out to get this submitted. I hope I’ve whetted your appetite and that you’ll come back to read more.

Thanks for visiting. If this is your first visit here, welcome to my blog. You can read more about me here and here. If you’ve enjoyed what you’ve read and want to keep up with my adventures, I invite you to follow me by one of the methods found on my sidebar.

What I Learned Today:

  1. There’s nothing like a deadline to motivate me to action.
  2. I am way behind in posting about my quilting, traveling and eating adventures.

Question: What have you been up to lately? For me, I’ve just arrived at my winter home and am busy unpacking, restocking the pantry and refrigerator, and getting reacquainted with the area. I often joke about us being back again at our cabin at winter camp for seniors. First item of business this week is buying a sewing machine since I left mine at my other house. Advice and recommendations are definitely appreciated.

 

 

8 thoughts on “Tu-Na Quilts: Trunk Show 2016

    1. Tu-Na Quilts, Travels, and Eats Post author

      My daughter and my mom have Berninas and I’ve sewn on mom’s. What do you like and dislike about yours?
      I’ve set aside two more piles of fabric that I’d like to make into giraffes; one is for a blue body and one another yellow one because I have a lot of leftover 2 inch squares. But I left them back at the other house so it’ll be months until I work on them.

      Like

      Reply

I'm intersted in what you think. Thanks for leaving a comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.