Tu-Na Quilts: More Poodles Came to Play

I’m still posting Poodle Block tips over on Bee Inspired. It’s my month to be Queen Bee and I’ve been having some fun going down memory lane with the poodle block I chose to have my hive mates make.

Tu-Na Travels and Quilts: Day 7 in Paris and Finishing the Leftovers just published on the Bee Inspired blog here. You are invited to come and check it out. These tips might be helpful if you want to make some of those adorable right facing poodles that Sally from The Objects of Design designed which is available here.

In the meantime, my knight in shining armor, ok. maybe not the one pictured below,

tunaquilts 18a
One of the many suits of armor we saw in Paris.

but my husband, came in from the mailbox a couple of days ago saying, “Woof, woof, woof, woof.” I guess that meant there was mail for me.

tunaquilts 23aThese delightful poodles came all the way from Velda who lives in Canada and blogs at Granny Can Quilt.

tunaquilts 27a
Here’s Odie. He is a star. These fabrics are gorgeous.
Odie

Here’s her real Odie showing you his ability to fit in with his human family by sitting all proper on the couch. He only got to roam around Velda’s house for two years before heading to doggie heaven but he will remain a star in her heart forever. This picture was taken by Granny Can Quilt and used with permission.

 

tunaquilts 26a

This one is called Tigg and is modeled after one of Velda’s poodles who now lives with her. Don’t you just love that background text fabric?

Tigg

Here’s Tigg in real life. Look at that pose!! He is a handsome fella and is the senior poodle at Velda’s house. This picture was taken by Granny Can Quilt and used with permission.

The guys came bearing gifts.

tunaquilts 25a
Tigg is bringing in some 1.5″ strips for me to use in my postage stamp quilt. Odie is carrying a piece for the cornerstone for this poodle quilt.

Thanks, Velda!! These poodles are gorgeous and I will definitely make use of the strips. Your hard work is much appreciated!

What I Learned Today:

  1. Belonging to an online quilting bee is a lot of fun especially this month.
  2. I’m looking forward to the mail tomorrow.
  3. I’ve only got 5 days to get my Stash Bee block finished and in the mail! It’s a red, white, and blue string block. It should be fun but I am so busy this week since my sister is coming to town and we’ve got at least one quilting day planned and a girls day out.

Question: If you were in a bee, what block would you choose?

Linking to Main Crush Monday, Monday Making, Moving It Forward, Katie Mae Quilts BOMS Away. Linky Tuesday at Freemotion by the River,

 

4 thoughts on “Tu-Na Quilts: More Poodles Came to Play

  1. rl2b2017

    I’m still laughing about your knight barking his way from the mail box. HAHA! I wonder if that was saved for just inside the house or outside too? The neighbors must think you two are a hoot (which you are)! Velda is a real gem and a good friend to you – can’t wait to see what today’s mail brings you. ~smile~ Roseanne

    Like

    Reply
  2. Kathleen McCormick

    What a fun post! Love the poodle blocks and seeing the different renditions. I have a labradoodle and so appreciate the poodle in him. I, too, now look forward to your mail delivery and seeing what your blocks from afar look like!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Sarah Craig

    Fun blocks, Karen! PS Can you take a minute and check your email for one from me (salliesue57@gmail.com) and respond please? We’re getting down to the wire on the Christmas in July blog hop….

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

